+1 833-262-2321


What currency is used in Australia?Australian currency is the Australian Dollar ($AUD) is decimal with the dollar as the basic unit (100 cents = A$1). Notes come in $100, $50, $20, $10 and $5 denominations. Coins come in $2, $1, 50 cent, 20 cent, 10 cent and 5 cent denominations.
English is the common language of Australia. However, Australia is a multicultural society, you may hear other languages spoken.
English is the primary language used in New Zealand.  Maori is the indigenous language spoken in New Zealand, and many other languages can be found throughout the country.
As Australia has different time zones and observes daylight savings time, the time difference varies based on where you are visiting.In general the east coast of Australia is 15 hours ahead of the east coast of Canada and 18 hours ahead of the west coast of Canada.Both countries operate daylight savings time during their summer months, from April to October eastern Australia is 14 hours ahead of the east coast, and 17 hours ahead of the west cost.From October to March, Australia is 16 hours ahead of the east coast of the Canada, and 19 hours ahead of the west coast of the Canada.Not all Australian states observe daylight saving, so times in the country can vary by one hour.Time differences are similar in the U.S.
Australia’s seasons are opposite to those in the Northern Hemisphere * Spring is September - November * Summer is December - February * Fall is March - May * Winter is June – August.Australia's climate is generally pleasant without extremes in temperature. Overall, there are two climatic zones in Australia. About 40% of Australia is in the Tropical Zone - that is north, above the Tropic of Capricorn. The cities of Cairns and Darwin are in this zone.The remaining areas of Australia lie in the Temperate Zone, including Brisbane, Sydney, Melbourne, Hobart, Adelaide and Perth.As Australia is a vast country, there are also weather variations within these two zones. The Temperate Zone has all 4 seasons, while those in the Tropical Zone have 2 - summer is 'wet' and winter is 'dry'
New Zealand is split into two islands and a you may have guessed the weather can be different. Most of the country lies close to the coast, which means you will encounter milder temperatures. The far north has sub-tropcial weather during the summer but the inland alpine areas of the South Island can be fairly cold (-10C in the winter).January and February are the warmest months, while July is the coldest month.
New Zealand's unit of currency is the dollar (NZ$). All major credit cards can be used in New Zealand, with Visa and MasterCard accepted most widely.
In Australia and New Zealand they drive on the left hand side of the road and the vehicles seat the driver on the right.
You do not need a visa to visit New Zealand if you are:
  • A New Zealand or Australian citizen or resident
  • A UK citizen and/or passport holder (you can stay up to six months)
  • A citizen of a country which has a visa waiver agreement with New Zealand (you can stay up to three months). - Canada and the United States are both part of the visa waiver program - for visitors from other countries please ask your Discover South Pacific travel advisor
If you don’t meet the above, then you’ll need a visitor visa, which allows you to holiday in New Zealand for up to nine months. The fastest and easiest way to apply for a visitor visa is online.